View all newsletters
Latest in Luxury - Sign up to our weekly newsletter

Copa Claro Argentina

By Chris Boyle

February 9-17

DAVID FERRERBuenos Aires hosted another edition of this prestigious all-male tennis tournament, with the world’s best players returning once again to the clay courts at the somewhat misleadingly named Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club.

The tournament is part of the ATP World Tour, and reigning champion David Ferrer beat Fabio Fognini 6-4, 6-3 to become the first player to win three straight Copa Claro titles. Past championship winners include Argentine sensation David Nalbandian and Brazilian star Gustavo Kuerten, and 2014 also proved to be another memorable year for the ATP Buenos Aires.

The tournament has run on and off since its inception in 1968, when Australian Roy Emerson triumphed over his compatriot Rod Laver in the final of the inaugural competition. Argentine crowd favorite Guillermo Vilas ruled the roost during the seventies, winning the event a record eight times, including a memorable victory over Swede Bjorn Borg to earn him his first title in 1973.

+54 11 4105 5200

Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club, Olleros 1510, 1426, Buenos Aires City

Content from our partners
Celebrate National Tequila Day with Clase Azul México
Keeping Standards High at The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Nightcap: Enjoy Live Music All Summer at Nemacolin Resort

Topics in this article :
Select and enter your email address Be the first to know about the latest in luxury lifestyle. Get the latest news on hotel openings and in-depth travel guides. Get insider access to exclusive promotions and special offers from our luxury partners.
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.
Thank you

Thank you for subscribing to Elite Traveler.

Websites in our network