Greubel Forsey has regrouped its activities within new headquarters and workshops in La Chaux-de-Fonds. The dedicated building, located near Eplatures airport, is now home to the four companies created by Robert Greubel and Stephen Forsey, and jointly run by the two founders along with CEO Emmanuel Vuille: Greubel Forsey, CompliTime, CT Design and CT Time. Over one hundred people have now moved to the new premises from the Ancien Manège and other sites where Greubel Forsey began. Vividly reflecting the nature of Greubel Forsey watches, the new workshops are composed of two buildings: a 17th-century listed farmhouse renovated by Mr. Gilles Tissot (an expert in the renovation of Neuchâtelstyle historical buildings) which will serve as a reception area. It also houses the Unique Timepieces workshop, a showcase for the brand’s creative excellence. The renovation work preserved numerous key features such as the shingle roof, external envelope and foundations. Various decorative aspects can be admired, such as a vaulted cellar, a former open fireplace, an 18th-century master room with its wood-worked ceiling and tiled stove, a carved doorway dating back to 1668, as well as the sundial symbolizing the passage of time and perfectly suited to the building’s new function. The main building directly linked to the farm and designed by architect Pierre Studer houses the development and production premises. Its original shape reflects a geological fold as seen in the topography of the Jura mountains, further enhanced by a ‘green’ or garden roof. It is also the first double-skin environmentally-friendly construction in the region and the glass outer walls create a natural thermal buffer zone. Natural light streams into the whole interior from the outer walls and through the impressive glazed covered courtyard. The staircases on each side are a subtle reminder of the Ancien Manège.
For more information, visit www.greubelforsey.com