View all newsletters
Latest in Luxury - Sign up to our weekly newsletter
  1. Travel
  2. Destination Guides
  3. Europe
  4. Geneva
November 19, 2010updated Jul 06, 2015

Gruebel Forsey, Van Cleef, MB&F, F.P. Journe, Vacheron Lead Winners At 10th Annual Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève

By Pardhasaradhi Gonuguntla

Geneva, Switzerland – Reported by Elite Traveler, the private jet lifestyle magazine

Before a standing room audience of over 1,500 in the Grand Théâtre de Genève, with red carpets and command performances by dancers and musicians the watch industry’s version of the Oscars took place last night with some familiar and not familiar names making it to the stage for the 10th anniversary version of the awards. Several of the winners had been prominently featured in Elite Traveler earlier this year.

Among an all-star line-up of presenters were Elena Ivanova, representing the Mercury company, presented the „Complicated Watch Prize‰, and Abdul Hamied Sediqqi the „Design & Concept Watch Prize‰. Westime Founder and supporter of innovative watch brands John Simonian came on stage to hand over the „Best Men‚s Watch‰ award, while „La Petite Aiguille‰ prize was presented by Michael Tay from The Hour Glass in Singapore. Laurent Picciotto, founder and owner of the Chronopassion specialist boutique in Paris, provided entertaining summaries of the technical characteristics of the nominated timepieces.

A moving moment came with „in memoriam‰ tributes paid by Franco Cologni and Metin Arditi to Nicolas Hayek and Luigi Macaluso.

Here are the winners of the 10th Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève:

– The Grand Prize of „L‚Aiguille d‚Or‰ (the „Golden Hand‰): Greubel Forsey – Double Tourbillon 30° Edition Historique

– Special Jury Prize: AHCI – Académie Horlogère des Créateurs Indépendants

– Ladies Watch Prize: Van Cleef & Arpels – Le Pont des Amoureux

– Men‚s Watch Prize: Laurent Ferrier – Galet Classic Tourbillon Double Spiral

Content from our partners
Sky High Gourmet: Qatar Executive's Impressive Dining
The Best Family-friendly Vacation Destinations in Spain
W New York - Times Square: "We Do Things Differently"

– Design and Concept Watch Prize: MB&F – Horological Machine N°4 Thunderbolt

– Jewellery Watch Prize: Chopard – High Jewellery Owl Watch

– Complicated Watch Prize: F.P. Journe – Chronomètre à Résonance

– Sports Watch Prize: Seiko – Spring Drive Spacewalk Commemorative Edition

– Prize of « La Petite Aiguille » (the Small Hand): TAG Heuer – CARRERA Calibre 1887 Chronograph

– Best Watchmaker Prize: Jean-François Mojon

– Public Prize: Vacheron Constantin – Historique Ultra-fine 1955

About the awards:

La Petite Aiguillle (Small Hand prize)
On the occasion of this 10th anniversary, the jury awarded La Petite Aiguille prize to the best watch retailing at under 5,000 CHF.

Public Prize
The Public Prize is awarded by visitors to the Geneva exhibition and internet users who selected their favorite watch on the or websites.

Best Watchmaker Prize
A reward for the creative watchmaker whose work has had the greatest impact on the watchmaking world in a given year.

Special Jury Prize
The jury is free to award this prize to a timepiece, a brand, a personality, an innovation, or any major player in the watch industry.

Select and enter your email address Be the first to know about the latest in luxury lifestyle. Get the latest news on hotel openings and in-depth travel guides. Get insider access to exclusive promotions and special offers from our luxury partners.
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.
Thank you

Thank you for subscribing to Elite Traveler.

Websites in our network